The Monroe Historical Society was founded in May of 1967 by local citizens to organize and put on Monroe’s 150th-anniversary celebration.  The Monroe Historical Society also relocated a pioneer log cabin acquired from a nearby property.

Located in Butler County, Ohio, the Monroe Historical Society currently operates three (3) museums: an 1800’s era pioneer log cabin, the 1910 General Store, and our home – a replica of the Williamsburg Virginia, Chickahominy House.

The Monroe Historical Society Board

President/Publicity – Judy Shillinglaw
Vice President – Open
Treasurer – Kathy Smith
Assistant Treasurer – Roger Miller
Recording Secretary / Corresponding Secretary – Anna Hale
Office Mgr – Shannah DeHart
Curator – Reed Musgrove
Director of Facilities/Building Admin – Jeff Blanton
Director of Technology – James Bell
Membership Chair – Anne Rolfes
Publicity Chair- Open

Former President – Christina (Kristie) McElfresh
Log Cabin Chair – Mike Kuth
Facebook Social Media Coordinator – Cam Petrocy Hammond
Assistant Editor – Suzanne Shillinglaw Byrd
Administrative Assistant – Gina Lott
Member at Large – Scott Flower
Building & Facilities Director Emeritus – Jim Price